2018 – 2019 Grand Chapter


Worthy Grand MatronMary Hayselden
Worthy Grand PatronStephen (Steve) W. Boyer
Associate Grand MatronGarrie Oppitz
Associate Grand PatronRon Kammerer
Grand SecretaryChristy Hard
Grand TreasurerJames W. Billings, PGP
Grand ConductressKaren Monteith
Associate Grand ConductressCarol Salmon
Grand Trustee – 2014-2015 – ChairDon Flickinger, PGP
Grand Trustee – 2015-2016Nancy Zook, PGM
Grand Trustee – 2016-2017Larry Swaim, GGCCM, PGP
Grand Trustee – 2017-2018Pam Abel, PGM
Grand Trustee – 2018-2019Dee Smith, PGM
Grand ChaplainTom Johnson
Grand MarshalCindy Moore
Grand OrganistShauna Viele
Grand AdahGale Masten
Grand RuthNarena Vest
Grand EstherNancy Hayselden
Grand MarthaBecky Allen
Grand ElectaMary Keffer
Grand WarderWendy Cunningham
Grand SentinelDavid Blocher


The 143rd “Spirit of Love and Aloha” Session was held at the Downtown Ramada Hotel and Convention Center, Topeka, Kansas from April 11-13, 2019.

Our Theme
The Spirit of Love and Aloha

Our Aim
Fidelity – Dispel whatever spirit of discord that may here arise. Let’s be friends!
Unity – United we stand. Divided we fall.
Nurturing – Give us strength to believe that we shall reap if we faint not.
And let’s have FUN doing our work!

Our Watch-words
CHARITY gives us HOPE and embodies FAITH

WGM: The Serenity Prayer: “God give me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”

WGP: “A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man.” Jedediah Springfield

WGM: “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all Thy ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct thy paths.” Proverbs 3:5,6

WGP: “Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” Hebrews 13:2

Our Emblems
Butterflies: Beauty in Transformation
Star of the East: God’s Guiding Light of Love
Hearts: Love and Aloha

Microphone: We have a message to broadcast to the world.
Rolo candy

Honor Stations
Adah – The Worthy Grand Matron’s first office
Organist – They add so much to our meetings and ceremonies.

Our Colors
The many shades and hues of purple.

Our Flowers
Yellow hibiscus, roses, forget-me-nots

Our Charities
F.I.S.H. (Friends in Service of Heroes)
Air Capital AMBUCS PT trikes

OES Special Projects

  • OES Masonic Youth Organizations
  • Membership
  • New Member Recognition
  • 50-60-75-year recognition
  • Grand Chapter Session
  • Kansas Masonic Home
  • Star Gazer
  • Quilts of Valor
  • Tabby Tops
  • Bike Across Kansas
  • Grand Chapter website
  • Grand Chapter technology
  • WGM/WGP Project of Choice

Our Activities

  • Kansas/Nebraska Reunion
  • Kansas/Oklahoma Exchange
  • 5-State Fun Gathering (Omaha, NE)
  • Volunteer in our communities
  • Alpha-Omega Sewing Day
  • Spring Fundraiser
  • Traveling Gavels
  • Exemplification of Degree Work by Grand Officers in Hutchinson

Our Songs
WGM: Here I Am; The Servant Song; Humble and Kind; Singin’ in the Rain (by Simple Plan); Beautiful Kauai

WGP: You Are My Sunshine; Sometimes When It Rains; It Is Well With My Soul; Don’t Stop Believin’ (by Journey)

It is with a humble heart and love for this beautiful order that we dedicate this year of Love and Aloha to all the members of the Eastern Star in Kansas. Our members are the leaders that will connect the past and present and drive the vision of our Order into the future. We also dedicate this year to our families and friends who have provided support and encouragement as we have journeyed to the Grand East. We consider it a privilege to serve you, the membership, and we thank all of you for your continued service to our Order and to our communities. Above all, we thank God for His gifts and this beautiful life.


AlabamaLucille EggenbergerJanuary 1, 2020
AlbertaMary Ellen WalkerDecember 31, 2019
ArizonaMichele K. JeselnikMarch 18, 2020
ArkansasDawn CrumpleyFebruary 10, 2019
AustraliaNancy HayseldenDecember 31, 2018
BoliviaMartha Ann HulletDecember 31, 2018
British Columbia & YukonNorma BaggsDecember 31, 2019
CaliforniaDena HillDecember 31, 2019
ColoradoClara Jo TalkingtonApril 1, 2019
ConnecticutBarbara HufordDecember 31, 2018
DelawareBeth BrannanDecember 31, 2019
District of ColumbiaHelen OhlssonFebruary 14, 2019
FloridaDarren HardJanuary 1, 2020
GeorgiaBetty Ann AndersonMarch 1, 2020
IdahoKarlene BuechmanJanuary 1, 2020
IllinoisCharles GravesMarch 31, 2020
IndianaDee GuthrieFebruary 7, 2020
IowaBarbara ShawApril 1, 2019
ItalyFrederick W. ReichertJanuary 1, 2019
KentuckyEllen ShanteauMarch 1, 2020
LouisianaSharri DaltonJanuary 1, 2019
MaineMarlene BushMarch 1, 2019
ManitobaDee DeHavenJune 30, 2019
MarylandRobert CairnsApril 1, 2020
MassachusettsBilly John StewartDecember 31, 2018
MichiganCharles MarcyJanuary 1, 2019
MinnesotaKatherine DittyDecember 31, 2018
MississippiEarl OlsonDecember 31, 2019
MissouriCarol AndersonJanuary 1, 2019
MontanaBilly WiseMarch 31, 2021
NebraskaDoreen FosterOctober 1, 2019
NevadaJean OsbournDecember 31, 2018
New BrunswickBarbara RakeDecember 31, 2019
New HampshireRoberta McGrewDecember 31, 2019
New JerseyDavid AhlstromJanuary 1, 2019
New MexicoTwyla BaylessJanuary 1, 2020
New YorkLynda CoffmanJune 1, 2019
North CarolinaJo Ann WortmanJanuary 1, 2020
North DakotaPatience LowderJanuary 1, 2020
Nova Scotia & Prince Edward IslandLinda EngstromDecember 31, 2018
OhioDiane KruppAugust 1, 2019
OklahomaJanine BaehlerApril 1, 2019
OntarioWanda DodgeDecember 31, 2019
OregonPatricia Stripling-BrownJanuary 1, 2020
PennsylvaniaSondra PetersonNovember 15, 2018
Puerto RicoCecilia HillebrandMarch 31, 2019
QuebecRoberta LewisAugust 20, 2020
Rhode IslandDeborah WestermanDecember 31, 2018
Sao PauloDecember 31, 2019
SaskatchewanMary Ruth YulichDecember 31, 2019
Scotland*Dannell Altman-NewellDecember 31, 2020
South CarolinaLucinda L. E. MooreApril 1, 2019
South DakotaRoberta Suzann CawthornJanuary 1, 2020
TennesseeSue May-AyresJanuary 1, 2020
TexasDoris KammererAugust 2, 2019
UtahKaren BillingsDecember 31, 2019
VermontNancy CrumbMarch 1, 2020
VirginiaNancy BeckmonFebruary 1, 2020
WashingtonJoyce SaylorDecember 1, 2019
West VirginiaAdrienne M. WhiteDecember 31, 2018
WisconsinDeanna PhelpsApril 1, 2020
WyomingPeggy L. JohnsonDecember 31, 2019

*denotes 3 year appointment


May 2018

November 2018

Comments are closed.